Provincial Geriatrics Leadership Office

Provincial Initiative

The Provincial Geriatrics Leadership Office (PGLO) is the provincial infrastructure for clinical geriatrics care, and, in collaboration with health professionals providing direct care, provides trusted leadership in integrated, person-centred care for older adults and their caregivers living with complex health needs in Ontario. The PGLO focuses on coordinating perspectives across clinical geriatric services (Care of the Elderly, Geriatric Medicine, Geriatric Psychiatry and Interprofessional Geriatric Teams) in order to improve the care for older adults across the continuum of care.

The PGLO has arisen out of the ongoing work of the Regional Geriatric Programs of Ontario and pursues the following strategic directions:

  • Drive clinical excellence
  • Build capacity across the system
  • Advance seniors health policy

To view the 2020-2023 Strategic Plan click here

The work of the PGLO includes (among other activities):

PGLO Team:

  • Kelly Kay, Executive Director,
  • Dr. Sophiya Benjamin, Co-Medical Director – Geriatric Psychiatry,
  • Dr. Kevin Young, Co-Medical Director – Geriatric Medicine,
  • Adam Morrison, Director, Policy & Planning,

PGLO Steering Committee:

Older Adult/Caregiver Representatives:

  • Ms. Mona Lancaster
  • Ms. Anne-Marie Yaraskavitch

Clinician Representative for Geriatric Medicine

  • Dr. Frank Molnar
  • Dr. Jo-Anne Clarke

Clinician Representative for Geriatric Psychiatry

  • Dr. Andrea Iaboni
  • Dr. Tarek Rajji

Clinician Representative for Care of the Elderly

  • Dr. Sid Feldman
  • Dr. Chris Frank

Administrator Representative for Geriatric Medicine

  • Mr. Kelly Milne

Administrator Representative for Geriatric Mental Health

  • Ms. Julia Baxter

Administrator Representative for Care of the Elderly

  • Ms. Valerie Scarfone

Permanent Members (Host Organization Representatives)

  • Dr. Barbara Liu
  • Ms. Marlene Awad